Printing from Leica Monochrom?

JoshuaRothman

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I'm in the market for a photo printer—something that will let me make my own 5 x 7, 8 x 10, or 11 x 14 prints at home.

I will be printing a lot of color photos, made with my M10. But I also have a newly acquired M10M, and I'd like to get the most out of that camera.

Are there certain printers I should be looking at that will provide better quality in terms of black and white tonality? Or certain features? Or will a printer like the Epson P900 work just fine?

Also, if you have any other tips for printing from a Leica Monochrom camera, I'd love to hear them.

About me: I have a budget of about $1,500. I'm a hobbyist, not a professional, and so have no one to satisfy but myself. I essentially take family and travel photographs—I'm not aiming for Andrea Gursky levels of perfection. But I do want to print black and white portraits from the M10M that, ideally, have some of the same richness as the ones I've shot on medium format film.

Many thanks for your insights!

• Like 1

4 minutes ago, JoshuaRothman said:

a photo printer

Some will say Epson, some Canon. Both are excellent and you will get a great printer for your budget. Loads of videos on YouTube testing and comparing. If you are going to do a load of printing also check ink costs as there are some anomalies eg ink per ml is cheaper for Epson P900 than P700. Also look to see which print software you prefer. I use Epson Print Layout after Lightroom and so much simpler than direct from Lr.

Good place to start 

• Like 2

If you do not print on a regular basis, Canon is the better choice. All Epson's struggle (and have struggled) with keeping the nozzles open when not used for a longer period of time (like a few weeks or months).

If you plan to print at least monthly, this will probably not be an issue.

• Like 1

2 hours ago, dpitt said: