Photo Editing software which one do you all prefer

markc2

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi all, 

I'm about to get a digital camera, I used photoshop forever, but I recently updated my computer and voila my ancient version of CS no longer works. I really like my updated computer, and I have a gaming PC computer that could rip thru photo's as well. I hate that Adobe has moved to a subscription service and I would actually have to see how many photo's I took to see if that is worth it. I have a lot of other subscriptions, is this one good to add, and are there other options as well? It's amazing how much AI algorithms have moved into photography, I just feel like since Im getting a modern camera I should try some modern software as well. 

Thanks for any ideas and help!

Mark

3 hours ago, markc2 said:

I'm about to get a digital camera, I used photoshop forever, but I recently updated my computer and voila my ancient version of CS no longer works. I really like my updated computer, and I have a gaming PC computer that could rip thru photo's as well. I hate that Adobe has moved to a subscription service and I would actually have to see how many photo's I took to see if that is worth it. I have a lot of other subscriptions, is this one good to add, and are there other options as well?

You'll find most of the discussion over on this forum:

https://www.l-camera-forum.com/forum/55-digital-post-processing-forum/

If you want a powerful but reasonably priced photo editor, an obvious choice is Affinity Photo:

https://affinity.serif.com/en-gb/photo/

It's an excellent alternative to Photoshop, but it doesn't have the image management or lightbox-style previewing tools of software like Lightroom (for those functions, you might look at ON1 or DXO).

It might still be possible to get that old copy of CS working again - which version is it, and what problem did you have on the updated PC?

• Thanks 1

20 hours ago, Anbaric said: