should I get a M10M

brickftl

Advertisement (gone after registration)

background: I'm a rangefinder newbie, bought a M10 3 weeks ago (haven't shot manual focus since shooting Tri-X on my manual focus Canon AE1 about 45 years ago), absolutely love it and am hooked. Love shooting it in color, no complaints. Also, although I've done plenty of landscape photography (including traveling to New Zealand last November with a bunch of photogs), in my heart I'm a street shooter.

Last night I went downtown, shot a bunch of images at f2 (widest aperture of my cv 35/23 ultron), they're posted at this link. https://brick.smugmug.com/Photography/2024-2-24-Key-West-eveningnight-/n-K5jRc7

The first two were shot at ISO 200, then one at 800, then the rest either 1600 or 3200. Oh, and my previous worries about not having bought the M10R with its increased low light performance went away when I looked at my images after running them through DXO Raw Prime.

I was never really into black/white, but after converting last nights images from color to black/white (and please chime in with critique if you think my processing is too heavy handed), I'm sort of hooked, not to replace shooting color which I also love (examples with my M10 here: https://brick.smugmug.com/Photography/2024-2-23-Key-West-garden-club), but as an adjunct when I'm in a black/white mood. 

So my question is how much better could I expect last night's photos would have been had I shot with a M10M paired with a faster lens? I've read that the M10M tonality and overall aesthetic is well beyond what I could produce with color images processed as black/white.

Any thoughts on me getting a M10M as a second camera together with faster lens? And when you ponder that question, related to it was that I had a really tough time focusing my M10 in low light, I had trouble making out the 2 images in the viewfinder as I tried to bring them together with the focus ring.

Edited by brickftl
  • Thanks 1