Leica CL combo ideas

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi, newbie here for the first time!  I don’t have any Leica experience and am coming from a Nikon film background. I have the opportunity to purchase a reasonably priced Leica CL + Elmarit -TL 18mm f2.8 ASPH. I was thinking about what other lenses would give me a rounded combination for mainly nature, landscapes, macro and some street photography. Ideally I’m after the smallest travel outfit for convenience. So here I am to seek a little education and hopefully hear experienced opinions on the possibilities. I stumbled across a good price for a lens that could have potential and wanted to get some feedback on that as well. Any thoughts on combining the CL with the Leica Macro-Elmar M-90 f/4? Of course I’d have to get the Leica M-Adapter L and the Leica Macro-Adapter M. Would all these adapter combinations work? Any ideas and/or clarification would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks, A

Yes you did but this is a lens of limited use. The standard zoom is far more suited for your general use except macro   Mine has been lying in the safe for more than a year. I still would advise you to supplement your set with the zoom and look at a less costly solution for the macro bit. The Sigma 70 mm macro L is huge, but it works very well, for instance, and it goes to 1:1   

• Thanks 1

+1 for a 18-56 TL as the general purpose lens.
Keep the 18mm TL as your most compact solution.

If you do not mind manual focusing and vintage lenses, then the Leica Macro Elmarit 1:2.8/60mm R lens comes to mind. You would only need a good mechanical R-L adapter, not the Leica one.
Including the adapter, it will be about the same size as the 18-56 TL with hood mounted.

The Macro Elmarit goes to 1:2 on FF and there is a macro adapter R to reach 1:1, the same as the Sigma 70mm.
With bellows you can go even further. Some say to 5:1, but I did not try that yet.

7 hours ago, aesthete said: