SL2, SL2s or M11?

jackieboi

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I've had Leica Q2 and Ricoh GRiiix as a portable. I'd love to have a mirrorless camera to cover my need and pair with my other 2. I've been into photography for a long time, just done candid shots, street photography, mostly for my taste based on what I'm self-taught. I'm not a professional photographer but I've been asked by lots of my friends to do photoshoots, eg portrait, senior pictures, family photo, storytelling events. Hence the need for either M11 or SL2/SL2s. 

I've researched and know the difference in specs, rangefinder vs digital EVF, lens options, etc. SL system seems to be a rational choice. And M11 may be too close to my Q2 (about size, lack of versatility, fixed lenses) and it might not work out well. 

But something about the M11 rangefinder , the feel, the touch (even though I'm not familiar with film camera at all but I figure learning it is enjoyable), about the classic makes me think double. Is choosing m11 in my case justified and suitable for the work I'm doing for my friends? 

The M11, as any M is a very different camera. For me it felt like coming home when I used my first M (M2 and later M8). It takes a while to get used to, and some practice to be really fast with the manual focus. But I, and many owners would not want to have it otherwise.