Weird shutter behavior

weevi

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I've been using my M11 since March 2022 without major issue apart from rare several freezes which can be solved by removing the battery.

Last week I was on a hike in Taiwan and when I turned the camera on, I heard the sound of quick multiple shutter flaps instead of one. Turned out the shutter could not open, the lens (6 bit coded) couldn't be detected. I tried turning the camera off & on again, removing the battery, resetting the camera. It worked for a while but the issue occurred again, so many times within an hour. It frustrated me so much that I decided to stop using my M11 and rely on my iPhone for the rest of the trip.

When I got back to my hotel, I recorded these videos and sent them to my local authorized dealer in Bangkok where I bought the M11 from- https://www.dropbox.com/sh/gm2f482fi8u0p1m/AADKSZ12wmj7qvCPtw4VbbHFa?dl=0

The staff were not familiar with this issue and could not give me any advice. 

I removed the battery and did not turn the camera on for the next 3 days until I returned home. To my surprise, my M11 turned on and worked properly this time around. I took it to the dealer for a checkup anyway. It showed no sign of such issue there either. Now I'm eagerly waiting to hear back from them.

This is my fourth digital M camera. My M-D, M10 and M10-D, even the Q never fail on me despite being taken to more extreme environments. This is really disappointing 😢

vor einer Stunde schrieb weevi:

This is really disappointing 

Yes it is. I never had such things with my M11. But my M10 had a time, when it resetted itself to factory standard from time to time. After a few month this stopped. 

i had to experience something similarly stupifying where just time brought the cure to my at-that-time ailing M10-D.  though not the same issue as you describe here, but something 'electronic' anyway that got cured 'automagically' :

M10-D running hot and draining battery like mad