Leica Sl3 - Commercial Studio Test Notes

PBart

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello everyone, I just thought to post some notes regarding my experiences with the Sl3 in a studio setting using strobe lighting. I'm a food photographer and have been using Sl2s for the past 4 years and the Leica S system for 6 years before that. The Sl2 needed improvement from a commercial photography standpoint and I'm very pleased to report that Leica has been listening to requests when developing the SL3.

The most welcome improvement in a studio setting is the compatibility of Live View in CaptureOne. I work with food stylists who have been having a difficult time with the Sl2 Live View being rather poor in quality. Live View for the SL2 is technically not compatible with CaptureOne but it does work but with a very blurry view. The SL3 is now supported for Live View and my stylists are very happy being able to see their adjustments live on the studio monitors all much clearer. This is a HUGE deal! Thank you Leica for addressing this.

The resolution upgrade is obvious. However, the dynamic range is even more important for my work and I see an improvement with highlights and shadows.

I saw a comment about someone seeing colors shifted (red looking pink) but they were using Lightroom I think. I highly, highly suggest testing out Capture One. I switched over to Capture One 3 years ago and it was like having a quality upgrade. I just did color checker tests using my Profoto lights and everything looks very accurate. 

The usb-c cord while tethering is flawless so far. The Sl2 sometimes freezes up and then I need to pop the battery out to reset things. I have yet to heavily use the Sl3 but will find out soon if a freezing issue is there.

The usb-c cable is also powering up the SL3 while tethering and this is awesome without needing to swap batteries. The Sl2 always did a slow battery drain while tethered so it always needed to be monitored.