SL2.. how long will shutter box last?

kchae

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi, all.

Long time member but first time posting here.

I've been using SL2 professionally for the past 2 years and half.

I am about to embark on a photographic journey which will last 5 months.

As there won't be any Leica store in the countries I'll be traveling, I've been wondering about shutter box of SL2 I've been using.

I don't know how much of pictures I took with it. All I know is I use it almost everyday.

I read somewhere shutter box lasts about 200,000 shots.. I don't know if that is accurate. 

I know it all depends on gear to gear and there is no set number.. but was just wondering if anybody knows general ball park of shutter box life span.

And if anybody who owns SL/SL2 ever had to replace it during their usage.

My M8's shutter box went out and I had to replace it years ago. I don't want that to happen, while I'm on the road.

I'm considering to buy an used SL2 to bring along as a back up but obviously that cost a lot of money so I don't know.

I know there isn't exact answer to this but any two cents of yours, would be helpful.

Thank you in advance.

K.

Its a good question but Im not sure there is a method for finding the shutter actuation. On the road I would switch to electronic shutter I suppose if the actual shutter broke (and locked open), I have an SL2-S which must have hit 300,000 actuations by now, the Elinchrom flash reads 473K flashes but I used it with an SL for a while. Its is still working flawlessly.

A capital purchase if you are a professional can be written off totally to tax, so a new SL2 would save your payments to HMRC! (if you are UK based)

• Like 1

9 hours ago, kchae said:

SNIP----

I read somewhere shutter box lasts about 200,000 shots.. I don't know if that is accurate. 

I know it all depends on gear to gear and there is no set number.. but was just wondering if anybody knows general ball park of shutter box life span.