14 bit vs 16 bit (S3 v S007)

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi all, I am new to this section of the forum! I have been reading lots of threads about comparing the two cameras but I cant recall seeing a specific topis on that aspect of the bitrate.

I am a fairly seasoned Leica digital (pro) user with Leica M9, SL2 and M10r. I love the speed and precision of the SL2 and the portability of the M, but I would love to step up into MF (I had a pentax 645z for a little while, and I loved it) to slow things down. I am very upset with the battery life of the SL2 in general - tho it has improved marginaly since the new battery came out... and I am told the S007 is a "one shot HDR camera", has a super-duper battery life, and I am keen on using an OVF that will never go out of fashion or hurt my eyes.... and it reminds me of the Leica R8 of my teenage years!

Since the S007 and S3 are not too different in prices on the used market, and the resolution game is not necessarily what I am looking for the most (since the SL2 can churn out 47 or 187 MP...) in an S camera. I just want to use it an an excuse to slow down, go back to using primes (instead of the all mighty 24-90 on my SL2), most important for me is Dynamic range and noise performance up to 6400 iso. Lr denoise makes an amazing job now and turned my SL2 into a 64000/12500iso capable camera. but I can tell there is more to the S files in general at lower iso.

Can you tell a difference in DR in practice between the two cameras? What about file size and shadow/highlight recovery capabilities and does 14 v 16bit matter?

Essentially that would cut the difference between getting an S3+70 or S007 +70/120/35.... maybe.

I thought both had 16bit??

Same price - as far as I understand you have to pay triple price for an S3 vs S007.