Which SL to use for digitising slide photographs?

SJCoates

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi all, newbie here to digital photography; I have an R6.2 with a brace of lenses and am looking to move to digital with the SL, I am just not sure which one to go for; SL, SL2 or SL2-S. I plan to get the L to R adapter to use my R lenses as they really are fantastic - all ROM - last version of the 28/2.8, 50/2, 100/2.8 apo and 105-280/4.2.

Having done a bit of research, I think for my photography the SL(601) or SL2-S will do nicely as I understand the main difference is the 24 or 47MP sensor won't matter too much for me. However I am also looking to digitse my slide collection - the slide photos I have were taken with Velvia 50 and Kodachrome 25/64 so obviously really high quality film. To do this I am wondering about getting a ightbox and use the 100 macro to photograph them with the digital camera; in which case, would the higher sensor of the SL2 be better? In other words, if I was to photograph them with the digital camera, would the photos I get be good for decent sized prints? Or would a dedicated slide scanner be better?

Another area where I will be using the camera is with taking photos of fine art canvases, whch are quite large, 20 inches across, to be used for reproducing them up to A3 size. Interestingly, we have had some really good results with using a very basic digital camera with 10MP so I don't think this should be too much of an issue!

Another question I have, how is the aperture controlled? Does the lens ring still operate this, or is this controlled by the thumb wheel on the camera? As I mentionned, my lenses are all ROM, although I do have a 2x converter that isn't ROM that I hope to use as well.

I am sure there are many more questions I will have, but these will do for now!