Summicron-SL 50mm: first impression

MediaFotografie

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Last week I've got a call from my (well-stocked) local Leica dealer I can pick up the new 50mm Summicron-SL "Non-APO". Looking for the 50mm/1.8 from Panasonic for a long time I decided to go the (much more expensive, as we all know) Leica way.

Because there are not many information about the new lenses I will describe my first experience. I'm not a professional reviewer, so feel free to write a better review. I used the lens with SL2 and SL2-S.

First of all: handling. It's a wonderful light and small SL lens from Leica, very very manageable. A dream when compared to all others from Wetzlar. There are some small drawbacks in build quality like no engraved serial number (only printed on the back together with "Made in Portugal"). On the other hand it comes with a nice (small) lens bag.

Second: Autofocus. It's totally silent - and it is very fast! Feels like what we all want from SL3!    🙂

Optical Quality: It's not the lens if you're looking for the best sharpness. In this case there's no other way than these wonderful APO lenses, no question. But if sharpness at only "very good" level is sufficient it's ok. What I like (maybe a question of taste) is Bookeh; the way this lens renders the background is very much my taste.

How does it compare to the Panasonic 50/1.8? I can't say, only owning Panas 20-60; I don't expect a great difference. Fortunately I can choose the Leica, which fits very well the SL Bodies.

My (short) verdict? I very useful lens somewhere below the APO-Summicron(s) - especially in price and weight, not so much in quality. Much better AF than all other Leica SL primes. A very useful lens for street photography and all such things. Really a step forward for Leica's SL System.

Here some more pictures:

https://adobe.ly/41v1p5y

and here you can download some DNGs:

https://www.vesta.uni-tuebingen.de/l_forum/SL_50/