Trade Q2 for M-240 w/ 50mm Summicron - am I insane?

F_Stop

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello wonderful people of the internet. I'm currently finding myself in a situation where I have the option of trade my Q2 for an M 240 with 50mm Summicron. I'd love to get a second opinion as to whether I'm completely insane to consider this trade.

The reason - simply put, the 28mm focal length is just not for me. I had fun with it and tried to make it work, but shooting just didn't come as natural as it did with the 50mm. Yes, I know, sometimes getting out of your comfort zone is best, but not at the sacrifice of enjoying photography in general. 

Anyways, here I am now with the current predicament. I know I'll love the 50mm Summicron, but I fear that the 240 itself may not be the best choice given it's roughly 12 years old? This is where I need your advice as I'm still new to the Leica world. The majority of my photography experience was with Sony.

Your guidance is appreciated!

Hello, @F_Stop and welcome to the forum!

I have both the Q2 and the M-P 240.  In my experience, the 240's achilles heel is ISO - 6400 is its maximum.  If you can live with that drawback or can learn to work around it, the M-P 240 is still a viable tool.  Yes, it is "old" technology.  But it is not obsolete.  The 240 can still get the job done.

I had the original M240 and had problems with the buffer getting log jammed when making multiple shots in quick succession.  The 1GB buffer was just not up to the task.  I traded for a Safari version of the M-P 240 which has a 2GB buffer.  Problem solved. 

If you make prints, the 240's 24 mp sensor is big enough, unless you want to make house sized prints.  I have made 24x36 inch prints from my M-P 240 files that are exhibit quality. 

The Q2 is a truly great camera, but if just doesn't work for you, it would most probably be a good decision to trade it in for something that does work for you.