XP2 processed as C41 vs traditional B&W chemistry

LocalHero1953

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I have been trying various films before settling on a couple of preferred stocks. This has led me to shoot 5 rolls of XP2 Super. I was curious how it performed when processed in traditional B&W chemistry at home compared to professional processing in C41 chemicals. When I mentioned this in another thread others were curious (including @ianman, I think) so I'm explaining my conclusions here. 

[TL/DR: choose C41 every time!]

I was not at all rigorous in shooting the same scenes in the same conditions, but almost all the shots were in familiar areas around town where I have plenty of experience of what they look like in different lighting and with other films (and digital).

All five films were run through a Leica iiif with a Nikkor 3.5cm f/2.5 LTM lens. I processed two of them at home in HC-110 Dilution B using the guidelines in the Massive Development Chart. The other three were processed by AG Photographic. I scanned them with a Leica SL2-S and Apo-Macro-Elmarit-R 100mm fitted with the appropriate ELPRO that gives 1:1 magnification - it was mounted on a tripod stand, looking down at the film in an Essential Film Holder over a Kaiser LED panel. I set manual exposure so that the base film border highlight was just not blown - about 1 second at f/8 and ISO 100. I inverted them and cropped them in Lightroom, then exported them as TIFFs, and reimported them - that made subsequent processing intuitive - the sliders went the right way.