Range Finder Focusing

freitz

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Kind of a General Question.

I am new to Leica's and Range finders. The first couple days I've used the camera in bright sunlight and inside with good light coming from inside and outside. I was able to nail the focus. Tonight I went out to dinner in a restaurant with the slight dim to the lights and I found that I missed focus on every picture. Is this something that gets better with practice or is there another way of looking at it to nail the focus? Anyone else run into this issue?

Thanks for the help.

Kind of a General Question.

I am new to Leica's and Range finders. The first couple days I've used the camera in bright sunlight and inside with good light coming from inside and outside. I was able to nail the focus. Tonight I went out to dinner in a restaurant with the slight dim to the lights and I found that I missed focus on every picture. Is this something that gets better with practice or is there another way of looking at it to nail the focus? Anyone else run into this issue?

Thanks for the help.

This is where the EVF is very handy. The rangefinder works great during good light. But it's also very limited in low light, and for focusing on certain subjects with repeating patterns (tree bark, gravel, fabric, etc). After some use you will be able to guesstimate the approximate focus distance required when shooting under these conditions, but this takes time cause you need to become familiar with focusing distance, distance scale, and just knowing how the rangefinder works. Good vision helps too!!

Instead of trying to learn how to deal with it I would just get the EVF, or use Live View, for those very low-light situations, where you also might have had a couple of beers or some wine.

Edited by indergaard

This question ( and many others ) is addressed in the FAQ that sits on top of this forum, just a few threads above this one: