Switching from Sony G Masters to Leica SL - what lenses?

Nedward

Advertisement (gone after registration)

So after much deliberation I'm pulling the trigger on a used SL2S and trying to contemplate my lens selections. (plan is to then pick up a new SL3 once it settles) I'm a working pro, mainly video but the Leica set up will mainly be for reportage style photography projects. Im thinking the two new SL F2 crons 35mm and 50mm to get me going are a good choice...but hang on a minute, I just know I won't be happy if for a moment I even suspected the Sony GM line were going to yield superior imagery to those two "entry level" lenses. So in all honesty should I just go straight in for the two APO's . Can anyone tell me in the real world how these two non APO lenses will stack up to Sonys best?

Thanks in advance folks.

Sorry, don't know the new Crons. But I come from Sony as well. So I'll be happy to share some experiences. I decided to get one APO (the 90mm) for my favourite focal length. Sigma/Panasonic for the rest. The APO is absolutely stand out. No GM would come close to it. But the Sigmas are really good as well. The 35/1.2 is a league of its own. Also, the Panasonic 50/1.4 is outstanding (or can be, I had one terrible and one amazing copy).
Not from personal experience, but from what I've read, I would not get the “cheap” Crons, since they are more or less rebranded Panasonics.

If you can afford it, get the APOs (e.g. 35 and 75/90). If not, get other L-Mount lenses from Sigma or Panasonic.

vor 28 Minuten schrieb Nedward:

Thanks , Interesting what you say about the 90 APO V Sony but I guess thats the bottom line isn't it! APO if I can afford it...

Pretty much 😉
But I have to admit, in a blind test I did here on the forum a majority picked images from the Sigma 85/1.4 over those from the 90 APO. But those images were downsized, the APO shines in the details.