How many pixels do we really need?

dennersten

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I am an art photographer. Landscape and nature mostly. I am doing art, books, posters, etc. 

I am sitting and working on my upcoming exhibition in Stockholm. Two pictures are from the M9 (the rest from M11). I am sitting with the 18 mp images in Lightroom Classic; right-click and choose enhance. And Poff, they are 72 mp. I edit and crop them and print them to 70cm x 100cm.

In the last exhibition, I sold nine M9 pictures for 500 - 1000 Euro a piece. So my audience liked them also. 

So the question is: How many pixels do we need in these AI days? Is the pixel race over? 

I don't think the question can be answered that way.
For me there remains a dependency on the motif, the print size and whether a photo has a documentary or artistic character.

My digital experiences started with 5MP Digilux 3 and ended up to 60MP Sony A7 R IV.
For me there was never a reason to use 60 MP and so 1.5 years ago I decided on an M10R and got rid of all other cameras except an RX1 RII. With the 40 MP I have a certain amount of leeway. My genres are portrait, street, event, party and often backstage.
So I find 40 MP more than enough for all my needs. Some time ago I had an A7 S with 12 MP in my hand. Even if it would mean a certain change, even the 12 MP would be sufficient.
There may be applications where detail and print size are important, but not for me.

I think depending on the sensor size the race is never over. Simply because what is technically feasible is delivered and will also find its buyers.
I like to remember Anders Petersen, who took an impressive series of portraits of old people in a retirement home with a cheap compact camera and even used the internal flash.
It doesn't depend on the hardware, but rather on the photographer and what kind of emotion he wants to create.