There are 4 current 28mm options. Which one do you recommend and why?

Kiwimac

1 hour ago, jqian6 said:

buy a Q2, it's cheaper than buying the 28 lux lens, and you don't have to swap the lenses.

The thought had occurred to me. Mind you, will the Q2 still be serviceable and functioning in 25 years? (Equally, will I? But I suppose that’s a whole different question!)

• Like 1

4 hours ago, charlesphoto99 said:

28 Summicron. IMO there's little to no need anymore for the expense and bulk of the 28 Summilux what with clean high iso digital cameras. Might be different if you are shooting film. 

Is there much difference in subject isolation etc?

That’s the only reason these days to buy f1.4 over f2 really - the way it looks, rather than for the light gathering which as you say is a film era relic. 

I use the Elmarit and think it's a great lens, but I have no experience with other Leica 28s so can't compare.  

@Huss has used the Elmarit and the Summicron and should be able to provide some insight on their pros and cons. 

Edited by logan2z

hi all,

Depends on budget and preferred size/ergonomics and what it will be used for mainly too, i think. Comparing the 3 current versions under f5.6, there is a huge difference. Elmarit + M10 is unbeatable small, fits into a - say Barbour (?) jacket pocket without lens hood attached (depends on jacket) 2.8 may be enough for 96% of occasions while roughly 2.000€/$ cheaper than summicron. If there's a 35 lux on your shelf - no need for a 28 lux imo. By the way: Sold my 28mm Q2 as an option today!

Edited by wellknown
mistakes...
  • Like 1

25 minutes ago, wellknown said:

hi all,