What is the most versatile flash to use on a leica MP (film)?

Jodad

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Would like to start using flash and wondered if you could help me with finding a flash that works best with a film MP. I am a total beginner when it comes to flash and want something that takes out all guess work/ required knowledge to use and, will maximise the number of good results (apparently its easy to over flash the subject even when using TTL). Although I love full manual when taking photos, for now and for starters, with flash, I want something that will do it all for me until I get some practice. 

Yes, I know the Ms aren't the most suitable for flash but lets please keep this out of the discussion since an M is what i have and what I'm going to be using.

• Thanks 1

Get a Meike 320 for Nikon. You won't need the TTL connections but it's a small versitle flash with both tilt and rotation. The Meike is a good size for your MP, not huge like the Metzs' and more offers more flexibility than the SF-20/24d. Plus they're about sixty five usd so if you don't like it, not much invested.

2 hours ago, Jodad said:

Would like to start using flash and wondered if you could help me with finding a flash that works best with a film MP. I am a total beginner when it comes to flash and want something that takes out all guess work/ required knowledge to use and, will maximise the number of good results (apparently its easy to over flash the subject even when using TTL). Although I love full manual when taking photos, for now and for starters, with flash, I want something that will do it all for me until I get some practice. 

Yes, I know the Ms aren't the most suitable for flash but lets please keep this out of the discussion since an M is what i have and what I'm going to be using.