Leica R Lenses vs SL Lenses

Steven R

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi,

I've been using Leica R and M Cameras since the early 1990's and have a bunch of R-Lenses (19mm 2.8, 100 2.8 Macro, 70-180 APO Zoom, 280 2.8 APO) that I am considering trading in for SL lenses to use with a new SL2.

Would you recommend keeping these lenses to use with a new SL2 or trading them in for SL lenses to use with an SL2..

Thanks

The only thing I would consider to swap is the Apo 280/2.8 for the 4.0. That saves 1kg and brings you a lot more resolution, even handheld.

Furthermore I think that our forum should consider measures to protect members against themselves with plans of trading in Leica lenses. 😉 It’s a great loss of image quality and money. Unless you have real severe problems with your eyes which would legitimate AF, I wish you all the happiness with your R lenses on the SL(2).

Edited by otto.f
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Yes, AF certainly is usefull and indispensable for certain domains of photography, but these domains are quite specific to my mind. If you use manual focus from the 90’s on, I doubt that you’re suddenly moving into sports and safari and leaving your old style and subjects. Furthermore, in my case, my styles and subjects have a certain cyclic course, which cover rather years than the few months in which you wish for something new. So the regret can come 2 years later. 

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I've been using manual focus since the 60s, and rangefinders since 1980. Regrets - I've had a few - but then again, too few to mention. And I still use MF with AF lenses for some subjects - macro particularly. And I actually do still use the M lenses occasionally.