35 ASPH or FLE? Help deciding

NikonJeff

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Good morning,

I have searched and read as much as I can find both here and on the internet and I am still no closer to an educated decision as when I started and my brain is sore :D

I'm TRYING to transition into Leica from my Nikon gear and would like to get some real world feedback if you've owned both the Summilux 35 FLE and the prior 35 Summilux ASPH.

Am I going to see in everyday use a tangible difference between these two lenses that justifies the $1000 difference in price? I'm not trying to be cheap per say but if the differences in these lenses is based on tech sheets and lab results only then I would rather put the $1000 towards something else.

I've been shooting wedding now for 18 years and have been using Nikons for the better part of it. Currently I use (2) D3 bodies mated with a 35/1.4G and 85/1.4G lenses about 95% of my day. I shoot predominately wide open on the bleeding edge of 1.4 except for when I need/want more DOF.

My current Leica kit is an M9, 50lux v2, Zeiss ZM35/2, ZM50/2 and a VL 75/1.8 - I've been looking for a 35lux and have an opportunity to purchase a new 35lux FLE today ($5k) from the dealer I purchased my M9 from a few months ago. There are also some used (LNIB) 35lux ASPH available for about $4k on eBay and from various dealers...

My head is spinning and I would REALLY appreciate some advice from those that have either tested or owned both of these lenses and can tell me what they chose and why.

Many, many thanks!

Jeff

Hi Jeff

I went through a similar thought process not long ago and had my eyes set on the pre-FLE because I could not imagine that there would be a noticeable difference on film, which is what I use. And that is likely the case - the bigger difference between the lenses, as I have understood it, is that the FLE corrects focus shift (which is a real problem, esp on digital) and has improved flare performance.