35 APO Acceptable Fringing?

JPizzzle

Posted (edited)

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi Everyone,

Would appreciate some thoughts on a photo I took with my 35 apo. I received the lens a few weeks back brand new from a Leica store. It hasn't gotten a ton of use really due to the holidays and scheduled. In looking over some photos from a recent walk, I noticed some slight purple fringing. Now, this isn't something that I think would bother someone as the fringing isn't "extreme," but it has me wondering if it should even be present for an APO lens. Figured I'd post on here to get the opinion of those more knowledgeable than myself.

Photos are at 100% and shot raw. The first was processed in LrC with remove CA on in lens correction and the second had it off. Shot wide open on an m11p.

Edit: Also, just want to add that I'm not an expert in lens design and not saying anything is "defective." This could totally be normal for this lens. I was just curious as to what one should expect for an APO lens. 

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

Edited by JPizzzle

If you blow highlights, those can fringe with almost any lens. The "excess photons" have a mind of their own, as they pass through the sensor cover glass and UV/IR filter. It is a "worst-case" scenario.

And of course 60Mpixels (M11P) will reveal 1-2-pixel fringes that simply go undetected by sensors with less resolution.

Finally, "APO" is a relative performance benchmark, not an absolute one. Especially the way Leica uses it these days - "our best-of-the-best lenses."

I don't have the APO 35, but that looks pretty darn good on a universal scale (and on M11).

In the M11 forum, you might look up the color fringing noted with the M11 using, for example, the 28mm f/1.4 Summilux ASPH (but not APO).

Beyond that I leave it to the real APO users.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

Posted (edited)