Printer vs Darkroom (Black & white)

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I'm sure there are folks here who have extensive darkroom experience processing printing B&W prints.  I have plenty of that myself BUT I left the Leica camera/film/darkroom world around 2004, switching primarily to digital (Nikon) and I have NO experience with current photo-quality printers. I tried out the first few generations of "photo quality" printers and they pretty much sucked compared to darkroom prints.  Now I'm back to Leica (M10 and re-buying the same focal length Leica lenses I sold - well, except for the 50mm Noct!)  and I'm interested in black and white. Are there printers/papers around now that film- experienced folks here would say have comparable tonal range to good darkroom B&W prints?

Edited by Mikep996

You should look into Ilford Lab Direct. They print from digital files onto Silver-Gelatin paper. they can make quite big prints. You manipulate/adjust your image using your favourite software and send it along. My experience is that the prints are excellent, and the price is reasonable (not a bargain, just reasonable). There is a California operation/branch - my experience is with the UK operation, but would expect the same quality from both sources.

Edited by Michael Hiles

I print my digital files and scanned film files with an older Canon Pro 9500 on paper from Fotospeed (Lustre 275 and Pearl 290). On our film photo meeting, prints and paper get a big thumbs up from the guys who print in their own darkroom. Can't be so bad. 80% comes from the paper, not the printer.

I'm sure if I started printing in a darkroom now,  I needed 2-3 years to achieve the level of quality I get with the digital prints.

My next little project (after covid 19) is to experiment with printing on digital contact film and make a contact print from that.... need access to the lab from one of my friends for that.