will you recommend X1

maxofrome

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Good afternoon to all. As you can see I am new in this great forum.

I just post my 1st question because last week end in a photo event in Italy I was able to shot with the X1 and I find it a great camera. I am really new to LEICA brand being 35mm user shooting with Pentax; but during the last year I start to feel to need a compact camera with high quality and I have seen just the X1 with this characteristic.

Basically I shot landscape and sometimes portrait. Do you think this camera has the quality that the brand suggest and its cost justify its quality?

Thanks to all and I follow the forum from now!

Have a serious look at the Ricoh GXR A12 (50mm e). I have both, X1 and GXR. The brain says Ricoh, the heart Leica. The GXR A12 does many things better than the X1 and its IQ is at least at the same level.

Ricoh will launch a 28mm e module later in the year. The GXR with 50mm and 28mm module will be my preferred choice.

I'm very happy with my X1 (warts and all) and I don't regret spending the money ; it creates quality images with a look that I like.

But virtually as good , with lens interchangeability and very much cheaper is my Lumix GF-1 with 1.7 20mm pancake lens.

Both are great cameras for those who hate carrying heavy Kit.

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Yes I would, but I am not sure who too. My brother often complains when dragging about his huge cannon outfit. He used to envy me and my DLUX 4. Now I have the X1 he likes the simplicity of it. However he likes his zoom for wild life photography. If the X1 could be coupled with a digiscope it would be perfect for him.

My girlfriend uses a little Nikon point and shoot (she used to use a minolta film camera) She loves it, but it is all mine!