Do you think I'm crazy?

Andydg

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I currently shoot Nikon digital and really miss having to 'work' for my images. Now it is pretty much point and shoot, though my gear is capable of a lot more I've become lazy. I've been thinking of selling it and going with the M7 starter kit that Leica offers. Selling my Nikon gear would just about cover the cost of the kit, plus some film.

I know the longer I wait, the less the digital gear is worth. Looking for others opinions on this idea.

I will be keeping my E-1 and a couple of Leica digital cameras (really Panasonics, but who cares).

Andy,

I've been shooting digital Nikon for many years now, and recently I came to the same conclusion as you did. I missed the organic approach to photography with film... I have a ton of experience with digital workflows as I do that for a living, but there's nothing like the feeling of not having a CPU doing most of the stuff for you.

I love the D2X and it's a great camera, but I just also needed something else. So last week, I dove back into the world of film photography. I now have all the things I need to develop my own negatives at home, a ton of BW film and a Leica MP with the 35 Lux.

I could not be happier.

I don't think anyone here is going to think you are crazy. This is the "choir." I don't think you'll be disappointed with the results you will get with the Leica. The thing is, working with a rangefinder is a very different experience than working with an SLR. Not everyone gets on with it. I like it, and I appreciate the aspects of RF shooting that are superior to SLR's (IMO), like wide angle, low light, slower shutter speed, nearly silent shutter and smaller camera and lens. Only you can decide if it's for you. Can you rent or borrow a rangefinder from someone to try out before you make the plunge?