Capture 1 and Aperture 2

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Apologies for dragging you away from the speculation about the M9.

I've been using Aperture for over two years but notice regular (somewhat compelling) references, including a monogram on luminous landscapes by Michael Reichman, to the superiority of C1 as RAW converter. Now I've done some comparisons by processing the dng's through the converters and then without any further adjustments exporting to full sized jpegs/tiffs and whereas C1 consistently produces slightly darker, more saturated images I cannot see any differences in detail that each program extracts.

Clearly I must be missing something?

Dubois

Capture One is now available as a free upgrade to version 4.8.2 (for the basic program). Incidentally, I've just purchased Silver Efex Pro for b/w conversion – a lot more fun than going through the laborious Greg Gorman procedure – and you get a Sampler Color Efex program thrown in at no extra cost.:)

I with both Mitch and Dubois on this, along with several others.

Here is a shot converted in ACR & C1 and then crops. ACR is first in each set.

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

The image form C1 was processed as a TIFF then saved as a PSD then converted/saved for posting. The ACR conversion was saved as a PSD then using the same action for converting/svaing for posting.

I really don't see anything other then all C1 images are darker but not just darker because of exposure, brightness, contrast or whatever.

Then only processing done to either conversion was what I use normally in both converters. C1 is set for sharpening amount 100, Radius 1 and no noise reduction.

ACR is set for amount 65, radius .8, detail 65, masking 0 and again noise reduction is set to zero.

I know this thread is about Aperture but the same discussion is going on about LR/ACR & C1.