An 80mm lux that won't mount on R9, but will mount on R6?

andrewme

Advertisement (gone after registration)

HI all,

I am pretty new to the R system, so please forgive me I'm making some obvious mistake. I recently bought at auction a very clean copy of the 80mm summilux, which was supposedly serviced by Leica in 2022. While it slips right onto my R6 body without any problem, it doesn't want to go onto my R9. I press it on and it appears to be flush, but it won't turn from there. I am applying a little bit of force, but don't want to apply more and break something. Is there something I'm missing? Has anyone else ever experienced this? Any ideas?

I also have a 50 summicron that slides easily onto both these bodies. So I don't think the R9 is just faulty.   

The R mount could be incompatible with yoour R9. See diagram and R-mounts explained

Of course, any damage to a correct mount could also cause incompatibility..

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

• Thanks 1

thanks for your replies. here's a pic of the mount.

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

@andrewme, I’m not sure from your picture, but the bayonet at the top of your picture looks a little deformed?  In any event, according to the wiki the 80 lux was only made in “R Only” mount and “ROM” mount.  Mine is a ROM, but I’ll look at a few older lenses.  I think this is an R Only mount - it has the two levers at the 4 o’clock and 7 o’clock positions.  The round part I believe is to protect the lens back and is not a cam.  If the bayonet is ok, I would agree it should fit.  If it is not turning, it may be the bayonet.

Advertisement (gone after registration)