Can I get a B&W developer recommendation?

shawn2nd

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hey Guys, 

So I'm pretty new to the at home developing game, since Summer of 2023 I've developed roughly 25 rolls of 35mm at home, and have been really enjoying the process as a whole. The first developer I used, at recommendation of the workshop leader where I learned how to do this, was FX-39 II. I liked FX-39 II, but the main limitations I was running into with it is its develop times were quite long, and there wasn't great information on using it to push in digital truth. For example, HP5 is famously known for pushing, but the only the box speed is listed in the app for HP5 with FX-39 II. Maybe it can't be used for pushing at all? 🤷‍♂️

So for my second bottle, I picked up HC-110 due to its popularity on YouTube, short development times (5 Minutes to dev HP5 at ISO 400 with Dilution B vs 14 Minutes at ISO 400 with FX-39 II), and clear formulas for pushing in the digital truth app. What I'm not so happy about with HC-110 is mainly the viscosity of it because it's like maple syrup, I only have a 300ml one roll tank, so mixing 10ml of developer with small measure tubes, and the gigantic HC-110 bottle is super impractical, and secondly HC-110 is giving my negatives a slight yellow tint, which I previously didn't get on FX-39 II (All film shot was HP5). 

So I went back to trying to find a new developer, and now am of coursed overwhelmed with the options out there lol. So I'm hoping someone with more experience can recommend something based on the following criteria:

• Viscosity similar with water, easy to pour, easy to measure with small tubes and tank. 
  • Faster-ish developer times. If I can develop HP5 at box speed in roughly 5-8 minutes this would be great. 
  • Able to push HP5 to 800 and 1600 (with timings available in digital truth).
  • Keeps a very neutral B&W appearance, no color tinting.