M3 or M4-2

Sara Rice

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I am brand new to Leica but not new to film cameras. I shoot professionally with my Hasselblad 503cx in studio and a Nikon F6 for boxing work. I was using a Nikon FE for street work and a M4-2 was offered to me to try out for a few weeks. I am amazed with the results on black and white film and love the weight of the camera. The shutter is smooth an oh so quiet. I like the rangefinder system as well. So, in doing my research and speaking with a few other pro's out there, it was suggested that I would be better with the M3. I have read through the M3 vs M4-2 but honestly, just as confused. I found a list somewhere online that did the pros and cons and breakdowns of all the features on the M's. Again, still don't have an answer that I am comfortable with. 

I am not looking for a Leica just to collect as I pretty much shoot daily with my 35mm.  My F6 is for a specific purpose but maybe some of the boxing work can handle a Leica?

Anyway, would appreciate any input (M3 or M4-2) or suggestion of where is the best to purchase. I hesitate buying it on eBay given the price tag and the unknown factor.

Thank you.

Sara

Hello Sara,

Welcome to the Forum.

Most "M" model cameras are similar & can be used in a similar manner in many situations. Both film & digital. And most of the lenses work equally well on both without any adaptation

The Number following the "M" is a designation of features. The numbers have not always been chronological. This pertains to both the film cameras & to the digital cameras.

The only "M" camera that looks somewhat different is the "M5". Which, keeping in mind the "looks": Operates pretty much like many other "M" cameras.

In many situations all "M" cameras will operate pretty much the same, both film & digital. And they will often produce pretty much the same results.