BEOON Alternative for film scanning?

Rokkor

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi,

after my experience with the Reflecta scanner, I am thinking about switching to camera scanning. With the scanner results can be good but it takes quite some time.

As I have a Leica Q and a Fuji X-T1 I thought about going the BEOON and 50mm enlarger lens route with the X-T1.

BEOONs seem very rare currently. Is there anything close in terms of small size that can be disassembled easily? Otherwise I will just see if I can find a BEOON at some point.

Thanks!

I have been using a BEOON for 5+ years, first with a Fuji X-E1 and more recently with an X-T20. Very compact, very easy to use, and very good results, but very hard to find and not inexpensive if you do. I have not seen any other copy stand setup that checks off all the boxes.

But there is another Leitz product I would have tried if I had a FF LTM mount camera (think Sony A7 with Sony-to-M and M-to-LTM adapters) and a 50/3.5 LTM Elmar lens. The BELUN is a little fixed height stand that has a 24 x 35 cutout in the base and a clamp at the top that accepts the front of the Elmar lens, plus a fixed length extension tube that goes between the lens and the camera body. The lens is focused at infinity. There are no other adjustments. Best of all, the BELUN is very easy to find (just be sure the extension tube is included) and very inexpensive. There is a very nice looking one with the original box on eBay right now for $35. 

Edited by Doug A
  • Thanks 1

17 hours ago, Rokkor said:

Hi,

after my experience with the Reflecta scanner, I am thinking about switching to camera scanning. With the scanner results can be good but it takes quite some time.

As I have a Leica Q and a Fuji X-T1 I thought about going the BEOON and 50mm enlarger lens route with the X-T1.