10 Lessons From 1st Trip w/ a Rangefinder System

rtsy

Advertisement (gone after registration)

After many happy years with Nikon (last was a D700 +20 + 24-70 + 70-200 VR2 + SB800 + SB600), I needed to lighten the load as travel and my pre-teen wanting to pick up the camera once in a while made the full frame set-up infeasible.

So I ordered an M240 and picked up a couple of M lenses. I have just returned from our family's Summer holiday with a rangefinder system and have these leanings and observations to make:

First, I learned that I am a terrible photographer! A decade of Nikon's silent wave motors for autofocus and matrix metering have taken its toll. The iPhoto album I will print from this trip will feature far less shots than previous trips with a D-SLR or even one trip with an Olympus PEN. Repeat to self 10,000 time: Must. Practice. More.

Second, I read a lot of especially Leica users making great images with a single body and a single lens. Some have a 2nd lens (different combinations like 50 & 90, 21 & 50, 35 & 50, etc.) and produce great work. I learned that at this point, I cannot be a minimalist as these fantastic photographers. I love working with my 18mm especially in narrow streets and small rooms. The 35mm has been a godsend for small group environmental portraits (as mentioned, I shoot my family a lot when traveling). The 90mm is fantastic for picking out details. For my purpose (and poor skill level), the 50mm proved least used. I did not expect this as many swear by ever needing only the 50.

Third, I prefer a neck strap (Artisan & Artist ACAM 106) over a wrist strap (Gordy's). I thought that I would simply slot my M into my bag when not in use so I used the wrist strap. I learned that I switch lenses quite a bit (perhaps bad habits from my days shooting with zooms) and a neck strap is a more viable option than growing a third hand.