Should I keep waiting for the M ... ?

dgc

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello. I am new to rangefinders and Leica having recently bought the M7 and 50mm/f2, a medium I first started using 30 years ago.

I have fallen for Leica, hook line and sinker, so much so that I put my name on the waiting list for the M. But I cannot get my head round the idea of spending £5000 for a camera where the lenses, to me, are the main reason to buy into the system. I am an enthusiast who takes photographs of landscapes and when travelling; I prefer B&W, which the M7 will fulfill.

I have been on the waiting list for 3 months now, but I cannot stop trying to talk myself out of this. I bought the M7 in order to slow my photography down and take more time composing each shot. I found that using a DSLR became an extension of a point and shoot where you could take image after image and manipulate them as you would wish in post production.

I am considering the following options:

1. Remove my name from the M list and remain faithful to my Canon 5Dii and newly acquired M7 for B&W.

a. Get the 35mm ASPH f1.4 (#11663) with the money saved. I have recently found that the 50mm does not provide a sufficient angle of view for all my needs. However, would the 35mm f2 (#11879) be as good for street and landscape photography? I can always push process my film should I need a higher ISO. Several threads suggest flare and CA as issues on the Summilux.
Please do not bring the ASPHERICAL and any earlier versions into the discussion (I am still waiting for member IWC Doppel to complete his comparison test with the 35mm ASPH FLE version from another thread !)

2. Continue with my purchase of the M.

3. Wait for the next reincarnation of the M, but when will this be - 2015 ??

4. Get a Fuji X100s/ X Pro 1 for colour to compliment my M7.