Trying to determine Leica model

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi,
I was given a nicely maintained old Leica camera recently and I'm trying to determine the model and details.

It has the number 674 495 and based on some initial research this appear to be a 1953/1954 Leica IF. It does have red numbers around the dial so I believe it might be the red version. I just can't find any photos online to collaborate this deduction.

I am attaching a couple of photos.

I'm pretty confident it hasn't been used for a long time, but as a photographic novice I assume I would need to try to find some type of Leica facility nearby to verify its usability - correct ?

Any insight and confirmation would be appreciated

Kind regards

Rich

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

• Like 1

Welcome to the forum!

If it looks well maintained, you might just try shooting with it. The original manual is still worth reading and is very clear:

https://www.butkus.org/chinon/leica/leica_if_iif_iiif/leica_if_iif_iiif.htm