Help a beginner on his journey to finding the right lenses

M8X2

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi All,

The time has come to move on and get my dream camera, a modern digital M. I always admired Leica M's since I was a young student and had the pleasure of holding an M6 in my hands in a photo shop in Hamburg. I bought an M8 with a 35 mm 1.4 Classic Voigtlander about 14 years ago, but I sold it when my kid was born and I had issues getting any pleasing images of the baby. I needed something more capable in low light, and quick and easy to focus so that my wife could use the camera as well. I went on a journey of different cameras, none of which really excited me: Nikon DSLR, Fuji X100V, Canon compact, Sony RX100, ... The journey lead me to a Q2 which I enjoyed for two years now. Then I tried an M11 recently, went out to shoot with it, so here I am. I will trade in my Q2 and buy an M11 or M11P and two lenses.

Figuring out which lenses to get for my first kit is tough. I spent the last week or so just trying to get my arms around all the different options and their characteristics. I will shoot mainly family, travel, cities, landscape, and some cautious street. I think I will start with a 50 and a 28, extending the kit later potentially with a 'character' 75 for portraits and maybe a fun 35 like the Steel Rim. The 50 will likely be a new or relatively new Lux because I dreamt of owning a Lux for more than half of my life. The 28 worries me a bit. I am spoiled by the quality of the Q2, so I am not sure if I should strive for perfection or character. To be honest, I am not even sure if I am currently capable of recognising the subtle differences between the not-so extreme options at the moment, so I am likely overthinking things.