R-lenses vs modern M-lenses for the SL2

deekay

5 hours ago, deekay said:

Yes, I am new to this.. What are the fundamental differences (practical use, use of SL2's features, IQ etc) between using an R-lens as opposed to a modern M-lens on an SL2? 

6 bit coded M lenses and ROM R lenses allow full functionality as they transmit lens data to the SL2 such as focal length and also allow a guesstimate of aperture.

With non coded/ROM lenses you will have to select the lens type manually each time you attach it ......... although you can restrict the menu choices to the ones you commonly use. 

Some M lenses..... even with the custom modified sensor on the SL2 have poor peripheral image performance, whereas the design of the R lenses allows them to function as well as native L mount lenses. 

Otherwise it is no different to using any manual lens on an L mount camera ..... you just lose AF and have to set aperture manually. You lose all the fancy AF and AF tracking capabilities and the marginal additional benefits of lens OIS added to IBIS .... if available in the lens used.

Leica specifically designed the SL range to be backward compatible and work well with almost all their back catalogue of M and R lenses. As a result optically very fine R lenses which could be had second hand for almost nothing 5 years ago have now become quite expensive, considering the age of most of them. R lenses size-wise tend to be somewhere between M and SL lens size ..... and most balance very well on the SL/SL2.

Also bear in mind some of the R lenses use very similar optical formulas as their M counterparts and are much cheaper ..... such as the M 75/1.4 and the R 80/1.4 ..... the former being highly sought after and expensive whilst the virtually identically rendering R equivalent is often overlooked. R lenses are also often in better condition as they have been sitting in a cupboard for many years with no cameras to use them on easily. Finding almost mint copies is relatively easy.