Using new Leica lenses with a M6 TTL

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello!

I recently bought a Leica M6 TTL. 

I have 3 Leica lenses:

- Elmarit 21mm f2.8 ASPH

- Elmarit 28mm f2.8 ASPH

- Summicron 50mm f2

They are quite new and I don’t know if I can use them with my M6. 

The manual says that old Elmarit 28mm can give lightmeter mistakes and the 50mm summicron has to be mounted in the camera with the focus to infinity so my doubts are:

- My 28mm is new so I guess no problem to be used in the M6. 
- My 50mm needs to be mounted with focus to infinity? If yes and I forgot it, can I damage the cam somehow?

- What about my 21mm? Is ok to use it with my M6?

- I also have a new Voigtlander 35mm f2 Ultron lense (M mount, of course). Can I use it too on my M6. 

Sorry for that many questions. I am a newbie on film M cameras and I prefer to ask and do things right than break something ;)

Thanks in advance!

You can use any M Lens without a problem on the analog Ms. The collapsible 50mm and 90mm have to be mounted with the focus locked at infinity. These collapsible lenses will damage the sensor if collapsed when mounted on a digital M. Enjoy. 

• Like 1

The issues are only with the old lenses explicitly mentioned in the manual. The Hologon and the Super-Angulons project too far back into the camera, which doesn't damage anything but interferes with metering. The later 21mm Elmarits are fine. The 28mm Elmarit was redesigned after serial number 2314921; more recent lenses are fine, including your ASPH. The 'Summicron with close focusing' is I assume a reference to this specific variant:

https://www.cameraquest.com/m50dr.htm

You don't have to do anything special with a normal 50mm Summicron.

Edited by Anbaric
  • Like 1

Advertisement (gone after registration)