What is your long term backup strategy?

dpitt

Advertisement (gone after registration)

@Jaap @Jeff S As promised:

As a software engineer I have been using computers as long as PC's are around. My first one was a PC/XT with two floppy drives, 360K each.
Over the years I have been using Windows and Mac daily for work as well as privately. My first steps in digital images were scans in the mid 90's and the Nikon Coolpix 995 in 2001.
I am proud to say that I did not loose more than a few days of work over 40 years. Making backups was essential from day one. Now, it is one thing to make it, I found out that restoring the backup, even if you have made a backup it in time is not always easy:

1. It can get physically lost, misplacing, crashing drives, defect CD/DVD, fire, theft... it all happened
  2. The hardware will get obsolete. I still have floppies, ZIP disks, JAZ disks, IDE drives around, but it gets hard to find hardware that can still read them.
  3. If you manage to read the files, or copied them over to modern hard drives like I did, you will find that the file formats can not be read by current software. Try opening a Filemaker 1.0 database, or a Word Perfect 1.0 text, with todays software. The only way could be to run the old software on a museum PC or Mac running a contemporary OS.
  4. The same goes for my PP software. My iPhoto archives probably can not be upgraded anymore to current Apple Fotos. With some tricks and effort I managed to keep Aperture 3.6 running on my Mac OS 10.14, even if it would not install on higher than Mac OS 10.11 Even then, when I opened the old 3.1 catalogs it said on all RAWs that the RAW engine was updated, so RAW processing needed to be redone. And worse... All my X2 files appeared as black rectangles (unsupported camera!) all of a sudden. I had to wait and upgrade to Mac OS for 10.14.6 to fix this.
    I considered myself lucky that I switched to Lightroom 5.x the moment Apple dropped Aperture for any new content.