Q2 Film Style Monochrom

trip35

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Dear Forum,

I'm new to Q2 and would like to get some tips from you.
When I take photos with Film Style Monochrom JPG+DNG and I get B&W JPG and DNG. I love how they render Monochrom straight out of the camera. But sometimes, I want to adjust, for example highlight and subtle contrast and so on. It's okay with adjust settings JPG but I would like to get it from DNG. But when I tried to get B&W from DNG, it is quite not Film Style JPG out of Q2. I use Lightroom and simply I change my Profile from Adobe Color - Adobe Monochrom. Then, the tone is little bit yellowish than Film Style Monochrom JPG.

Is there any way to get any closer to Film Style Monochrom from DNG? Do I need a different Monochrom profile?
(I'm sorry if this is a Lightroom question...)

Best regards,

Attachment: Left is Film Style Monochrom, right is Lightroom Adobe Monochrom.

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

Welcome :) 

Lightroom is not a precooked DNG machine - it is a program to enable you to create any look you like.

https://jkost.com/blog/lightroom-training-videos

https://digital-photography-school.com/how-to-convert-photos-to-black-and-white-in-lightroom/

TBH, I find both your examples rather flat. Did you set black and white point?

Or, alternately, simplified:

https://helpx.adobe.com/lightroom-classic/how-to/convert-photo-black-white.html

8 hours ago, trip35 said:

Dear Forum,

I'm new to Q2 and would like to get some tips from you.