Hello, Q2 Newbie here! I have a quick question or two..

Advertisement (gone after registration)

After giving up on buying one back in 2019, I finally decided to buy one.  I had to pay $500 additional premium due to the recent price hike, but just couldn't get over not even giving one a try.  I just took delivery from B&H last night and had a brief moment to play with it.  My first impressions are

1) Not as small as I wanted it to be, but not as big as I thought.  And it's definitely heavier than I expected, but feels very substantial in my hands.

2) Texture feels somewhat slippery in my hands and my pinky is kind of hanging loose but hope that the Lim's case would resolve this issue.  Nonetheless, the overall feel of the Q2 is simply exquisite.  It is nothing like my other Sony cameras.  It is very elegantly designed yet looks so simple and pleasing to my eyes.

3) As for shooting experience, I don't have much to say yet.  It was getting late and battery fully charged just in time for me to go over few menu items and take just few snaps.  I will be sharing more on my shooting experience later.

I have a quick question.  Is there any way to zoom into the photo immediately taking the shot during the preview?  I extended the preview time to 5 seconds so that I would have enough time to press the zoom and immediately chimp at the photo but it would just take me back out to shooting mode.  I would have to push the Play button to get into playback mode first, then push the zoom button for reviewing..  I'm I doing something wrong or is this normal / customizable?

I also have another quick question.  When pushing the FN button, it always brings up the self-timer menu?  I read on this forum that I would have to push and hold the FN button to bring up other menu?  Is this true?  Is it defaulted to a self-timer menu when you short-press the FN button or is this customizable.  I think I remember I was not able to disable self-timer from FN button customizing menu..