Blown out highlights

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I'm hesitating about buying a Q2 Monochrom (it'll be my first Leica). And the reason why i'm hesitating is that i've read stories that you have to be very careful with highlights, because once they've blown out, you can't repair it. Is that true? And how careful do you have to be? Is it worth the extra 500 Euro at all? Or should i better save that money and buy myself a Q2 and do what i've been doing for the past 10 years: converting color to monochrom in post? Any advice would be helpful

The files are very flexible, you can avoid blowing out highlights by underexposing and lifting shadows. The camera performs great, with great blacks. It's usually a safe bet to go -1EV, and even lower, depending on the light. It comes with experience, soon you won't even think twice how much to underexpose a certain scene.

• Like 1

I also bracket exposure when in bright scenes or with high dynamic range. I can then either choose one photo or combine in HDR. There’s nothing unique about the Q2M or Q2 for that matter. Their dynamic range is competitive. Not as good as Sony, but not a concern. IMHO. I always shoot RAW which helps. 

• Like 2

I think that the TO has 2 questions put into one. First it is about the danger of having blown out highlights that can not be repaired in post and the second question is wether or not color pictures should better be converted in post to B/W.

The first question is one of experience. For me its very important not to have blown out clouds. One has to know his camera as you can blow out your highlights with any equipment.