110 Planar

Printmaker

Is anyone using the 110 F2 Planar on their S or S2. If so, how is the user experience in a portrait or product shoot? Is opening up to focus and stopping down to shoot a PIA or no big deal?

Thanks in advance.

Tom

I have used it a few times but then decided I would rather use the 120 Macro for this kind of images, since - IMO - it does render sharp but still not harsh and works fine for portrait.

I wouldn't want to open and close f-stop for portrait work (except maybe if the person is sitting really still) - but then I would use those lenses in the 2-0-4.0 range anyways.

• Like 2

I haven't used the F series Hasselblad lenses however the V series are not convenient. I have been coveting the 110 Planar for many years and might put up with it for portraiture, especially if used at f2 the only inconvenience would be the lack of autofocus. The Leica manual focus system would seem accurate enough to get proper focus. For product shots I would think good workflow techniques would overcome the extra steps necessary without being PIA. Please post shots I would like to see your results.

• Like 2

I tried the 110 a few times on my S2 via an adaptor but concluded that manual focusing and aperture resetting were PIA; thereafter sold the 110 and bought the Leica 120 Apo Makro. Some other users (participants in this and other forums) report that the 120 is slow autofocusing for regular portrait work (true, it is a macro lens) and that they prefer to use the Hasselblad HC 100 2.2 via an adapter (advantages being faster AF, automatic aperture, full metadata etc. exactly like a native lens). Another possibility that you may wish to consider is the Zeiss 120 Apo Makro for Contax 645 - the Leica S - Contax 645 adapter will give you auto aperture and full metadata; the lens is of course manual focus only - but a very sweet lens, incl. for portraiture.

• Like 2