M6TTL vs MP3

harleyboy

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi,

I am brand new to the Leica world. I have been shooting with a 6X6 blad and want something more compact for the street. I am trying to determine the best option for my needs. Here are my questions that I hope some of you experts can help me with:

1) What is the major difference between and MP3 and M6TTL from a feature perspective?

2) The MP3 LHSA has this leicavit which I am assuming is a rapid winder thingy? Is that feature useful on a leica?

3) The MP has TTL the same as M6TTL so I am assuming that the M6 just has TTL for flash as well? Does that mean that the MP does not allow for TTL with a flash?

4) If I buy a used M6 how important is it to buy a matching lens that comes with the body? Does that really matter much?

5) Is there "really" any collector value to one of these Leica's like the LHSA models. What am I paying a premium for? Extra engraving, cooler colours etc? I wonder if these cameras are really all the same with different esthetics and creative marketing campaigns to capture the emotional buyer? Is this true or am I missing something?

Thanks for the help

Mark

Hi,

1) What is the major difference between and MP3 and M6TTL from a feature perspective?

The M6TTL has trough the lens flash metering

2) The MP3 LHSA has this leicavit which I am assuming is a rapid winder thingy? Is that feature useful on a leica?

I haven't used a Leicavit, but I use the Leica motor on my M6TTL and M7 and I find it usefull in reportage

3) The MP has TTL the same as M6TTL so I am assuming that the M6 just has TTL for flash as well? Does that mean that the MP does not allow for TTL with a flash?

Correct

4) If I buy a used M6 how important is it to buy a matching lens that comes with the body? Does that really matter much?

That is your own choice. However the black chrome lenses weight less then the 'silver' chrome lenses. But all M lenses can be used on all M6, MP or M7 bodies.