M6 black finish

Guest rontr6

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi can anyone tell me what the black finish is on a black 'classic' M6, ie enamel or black chrome, I would actually have preferred a silver chrome one but there seems to be a much bigger choice of black ones, someone put me off the black finish by telling me it was black chrome and doesn't wear well. The only black Leica I've owned was a CL [years ago] which had a very fragile finish so my limited experience of black hasn't been very good.

Ron

it was black chrome and doesn't wear well. Ron

it is black chromium and it wears quickly as all black finishing, if it is for the personal use, I mean if you do not need to be narrow and nonimportunate while the professionals need, made your choice for a silver plated chromium finishing, it will lasts during long time

I think in that case I'll be patient and wait for a chrome one, I prefer the look, I'm an amateur but the bulk of my photographs are taken while hillwalking or climbing which is quite a hostile environment for cameras.[i normally use an M2]

Ron

The TTL model has a more sensitive meter than the early 'classic' M6s. The later classics had a more sensitive meter. If you half press the shutter to activate the metering on a classic M6 and the LEDs flash then it has the more sensitive meter.

One other thing to bear in mind is that the TTL will probably be a newer camera - I can't remember if both models were sold at the same time.

One other thing to bear in mind is that the TTL will probably be a newer camera - I can't remember if both models were sold at the same time.