Darktable

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I have been away from Lightroom for about 2 years due to health issues I have done very little photography and not likely to. I updated my Mac Pro 5.5 to apple mini and did not include Lightroom as I do not want to pay subscription for very little use. I would like to start using camera again, M10R.  As I am still familiar with LR user interface I am thinking that Darktable would be a good free program to suit my needs. Have any forum members experience or advice that I might find helpful.

Sorry if this a rather open ended enquiry but any help and advice would be appreciated.

Mike.

Mike, I am sorry to hear of your health issues. I  use an old version of LR which continues to serve me well. I use a ColorChecker to produce accurate colour. I have no experience of other programmes. For modest cost you could also consider Photoshop Elements which has improved immeasurably since earlier versions.

49 minutes ago, kinross said:

Sorry if this a rather open ended enquiry but any help and advice would be appreciated.

Good to read you are back to photography. If you can correct heading you may get more replies.

Hi David.

I would be more than happy to use an older version of LR. I started out with LR5 but do not know how to go about obtaining an older version now. Not at all worried about no updates etc. just want to edit photos.

thanks.

Mike.

I assume that "apple mini" is a new M1 or M2 MacMini which uses Apple silicon ARM technology and that you use macOS Ventura.  I also suspect Darktable, and the others Raw Therapee and GIMP, don't use the ARM instruction set and run using Apple's Rosetta translator.  Perhaps others forum members can verify that the old LR versions run on Ventura.