CL/TL 18-56 Zoom vs. X-Vario Zoom - IQ Comparison?

I have no experience of the X-Vario. However, I would guess that you will see little difference in performance between the two, with an advantage for the CL combo - after all, the sensor  and electronics are a few years ahead.

For a while I had both, con-currently, but didn't bother doing a side by side.

Jaap is right, the later lens and sensor of a CL or TL2 "should" be way ahead, as the X-Vario is a mere 16Mp, whereas the CL/TL2 is 24.

In my case the 18-56 was on a T, and apart from different handling and slightly differing zoom ranges, I didn't really have any feelings good or bad. Both produced beautiful images.

Gary

I am not a "Tester" but did have both for a very short time.  I loved my X Vario - have some fantastic (to me) images I took with it, it's only drawback for me was the inability to put anything longer or faster on it.  All solved when the CL came along.  When I went on trips prior to the CL I took the X Vario and my M with a 50mm 1.4 - now I can just take the CL with a couple of lenses, nice light package - and so very capable, and the in built EVF makes a huge difference for me too.  

Honestly, if for you the X Vario does it all, and you have no need for longer or faster.. or an inbuilt EVF, I think the increase in IQ and 24mp, as well as the price difference would be a hard thing to judge.

• Like 1

I've also had both, but never compared images. My feeling is that apart from the (hardly noticeable) lower resolution image quality is up there with the best that Leica can produce. 

Being a fixed, dedicated zoom, it was tailored to the XV like the 28mm was tailored to the Q, so the compromises tend to be less. 

The X-V is probably the best value second hand camera you can buy ..... prices are criminally low for such a quality camera. 

Only downside is it is a bit sluggish and a clip on EVF is really needed to make the most of it.