All things Macro

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I'm looking for a definitive guide to doing macro on the M240. I've read a lot of threads here and there, I was hoping to pool it all into one place that might be a useful resource for everyone. I am by no means an expert, nor have i actually tried any of these methods. But I'm looking to try some macro stuff with my camera during the long winter months.

M to R adapter + 100m f/2.8 APO Macro

ADV:

- great lens.

DISADV:

- size

- price

Nikon Adapter + 100mm f/2 Makro

Oufro

ADV:

- price (ish)

- usable with any M mount lens

DIS:

- very hard to find. Until Novoflex or someone else makes one.

- is it enough to give at least a 1:3 reproduction?

Visoflex

ADV:

- bellows can be added

DISADV:

- doesn't fit with the 240 unless you get the chimmney style.

Bellows

DISADV:

- needs to be disassembled to be removed

- Bulky

90mm Macro

ADV:

- small

- can be used as a regular 90mm lens

DISADV:

- price

Maybe you are interested in another alternative:

I use the famous, very good and not so expensive Olympus OM 50mm 3.5 Macro lens with a OM to LM adapter. It works very well, is pretty cheap (lens about 100 euros, adapter 30 euros), magnification goes up to 1:2 with the lens only and up to 1:1 with the a extra macro extension tube made for this lens (also very cheap).

The optical quality of the lens is really good and with the electronic viewfinder or live view it is easy to handle. I'm doing macro shots in a light tent (kind of product photography) and I'm on the way to build a 35mm- and 6x6-film digitizer with this setup (see first steps here, includes a picture of the camera with lens also: http://www.rangefinderforum.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2188217&postcount=15).

• Like 2

Guest Emile de Leon

Why not just use an enlarging lens...on a bellows..

Or a WA...and try reversing them..for even closer..

Or one of those Zeiss macros..I forget what they are called now..tiny lil lenses..