A Warm Greeting To Everyone!

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello to all fellow Leica Users:

I joined this site a few days ago and thought I’d post a short note of introduction, as one would if you were an unknown guest at a dinner party.

I’ve been shooting professionally for about 35 years, on staff at three different newspapers in Canada. After 16 years at the Montreal Gazette I decided to make a change and left the comfort of a full-time position to free-lance and pursue personal projects. Then I moved to the US from Canada for one reason…the love of a Woman.

My first introduction to Leica was with my Uncle’s M3, which he bought in 1957 and brought to Canada when he emigrated from Germany in 1960. It held tremendous fascination for me as a young boy: full of mysterious buttons, knobs and strange numbers, that meant nothing to me.

I was 10 when he let me take my first family photo with it, heavy and unbalanced, attached to a large Honeywell strobe.

Through out my career I’ve used various versions of Nikons and Canons as most news shooters did and still do today. I picked up my first M6 about 11 years ago and started using it on my travels, strictly for personal use. I quickly became hooked and now use them exclusively for all my personal projects.

Nowadays, I still use Canons, when I have to. In today’s world there’s no avoiding digital use if you want to make a living. However I still keep at least 100 rolls of Tri-X in the fridge at all times; have once again learned the tricks of transporting film through airport security systems; turn the kitchen into a makeshift lab whenever my wife leaves town on business; and am trying to figure a way to fit a darkroom into a 8 x 7 foot closet… before it’s too late.

I found this site through a good friend in Montreal, and thought it would be interesting to get involved with a group who seem quite passionate about one of the few iconic cameras left in production today.