What's up with the Leica SLR S-System?

rarino5

Advertisement (gone after registration)

In all the discussions about Leica bodies & system I rarely hear and even forget that Leica has a medium format SLR "S-System" in their current line up. Surprisingly the 1st "SLR S system", the " Leica S1 Pro" released in 1996 already had 26 megapixels. The latest model "Leica S3" released in 2018 has 64 megapixels and is priced from 16K to 20K+ USD for just the camera body alone. I won't even go into the S line up of lenses.

So what gives? Who uses these medium format high-res SLRs? Are they used for architecture work or other niche photo work? Just curious as to why you rarely hear or see any discussion on them. Are they as obscure as they are or did I just have my head in the sand too long?

I'm an architectural photographer who shoots that with Medium Format digital with Rodenstock HR Lenses on a Acra Swiss F Metric

I also have the Leica S 007 for shooting dance with 28, 70, 120 and 180 CS lenses for syncing flash at 1/1000th second.

So I know both worlds. The S system is brilliant for studio shooting with dancers. The batteries last forever. I can get through a whole day without changing them. This camera never overheats. I also love shooting tethered with it. 

The cost was quite inexpensive, as I bought all my lenses second hand and had them serviced by Leica before the transaction. I was lucky to buy a brand new 007 inexpensively from Leica Manchester after the S3 had come out. The 007 is faster, which suits me. Although, in time I will buy the S3. 

I can use the lenses on my Leica SL2 which is excellent. As the lenses are distortion free. 

Can anyone inform me what the adapter does for the 180mm? I guess it allows you to focus closer.

I have been so impressed the the S system. As my work uses a fast shutter speed, I don't need stabilisation. I use it for a very specific kind of work with Profoto Lighting. 

• Like 5
  • Thanks 2