M-ISO > Auto

hirohhhh

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Why is there Auto ISO option in M-ISO? What's the difference if I set the ISO wheel on A versus M with ISO Auto setting?

Also, what's you Max Auto ISO and Max Exposure time? I set mine to 12500 and 1/30 because anything lower than 1/30 I'm having a hard time getting a sharp shot without image stabilization.

I'm new to the M system and coming from SL, and I'm still practicing to nail the exposure and focus on a run and gun shooting, like streets and kids.

Edited by hirohhhh

I suspect the source of confusion is that where you might think that M stands for Manual and A for Auto, from the behavior... can't be bothered to RTFM...  you'd only be half right. A does indeed engage Auto-iso, whereas M solely relies on the whatever the Menu ISO setting is. So for example, you could set the menu ISO to 100 and toggle between auto and 100 by going from A to M with the dial.

Personally, after the early M10 stuck iso debacle,  I leave the wheel in M and just manipulate iso via the menu system. If the wheel were somehow to become stuck or decoupled (the problem with early M10s) as dial value overrides the menu setting, you wind up permanently in whatever ISO you choose via the wheel.  When in auto ISO, I tend to reset the limits based on shooting conditions anyway so the dial serves little purpose AFAIC.  I dont find fussing with the wheel significantly faster than dealing with  ISO via the screen when you have it as a part of the custom items on the first page.  The only real advantage to using the dial to select the ISO value,  assuming you're not using the EVF, is knowing your current ISO setting at a glance. 

6 hours ago, hirohhhh said:

Why is there Auto ISO option in M-ISO? What's the difference if I set the ISO wheel on A versus M with ISO Auto setting?