Q2 competitor (I think not)

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I remember Zeiss announcing the ZX1 camera a couple of years ago. It seemed novel, interesting, and a definite competitor to the Leica Q. 

Things have moved on since then, and now there is the Leica Q2. Zeiss are finally taking orders for their ZX1. I think they've missed the boat, big time.

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1
  • Haha 3

From the specs I can see it is definitely not in the same class as a Q2.  Many differences abound - important ones.  I think it is simply Zeiss's entry into the fixed lens market.   Not sure what the intended market is since it is priced a thousand dollars higher than a Q2.   I could be wrong but I doubt any serious Leica users will jump ship over this offering.   I will probably rent one at a future date when it becomes available - so I can play with it.  There is no possible way I would drop $6,000 on one to keep permanently.  Not even $5000.   I am a photo artist who prefers the 28mm focal length to 35mm.   I am sure it will appeal to some but to who I can't predict.   

• Like 1

It’s also Android only I believe which I think eliminates a huge population. Please correct me if I misunderstood. 

I agree this is coming to market way late and will likely be a Sony RX1 camera in a Zeiss body so why not just buy a RX1R for way less. 

Edited by dkmoore
  • Like 1

7 hours ago, dkmoore said:

It’s also Android only I believe which I think eliminates a huge population. Please correct me if I misunderstood. 

I agree this is coming to market way late and will likely be a Sony RX1 camera in a Zeiss body so why not just buy a RX1R for way less. 

I thought the camera has an Android operating system, but will connect to both Android/iOS devices regardless...similar to Sony's Android TVs. Will wait until the reviews come out. Would be interesting to see at least. 

• Like 2

Advertisement (gone after registration)