A fast 35mm partner for my ZM 2.8/35

Dennis

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi guys

I talked before on this forum about my desire to switch entirely to the M-system for my work. I love to use my M10 for street photography, pictures of my family, travels, architecture, and daily life. And I would like to use it also for my storytelling work. I really believe it could be a perfect fit for me. I'm still studying the pros and cons, logistics, etc. But I do have a clear image in my mind of what I would love to do and the tools I would need. So here, I'm asking you for your valuable feedback about some 35mm options. At the moment, I have the 2.8/35 ZM Biogon. The point is that 90% of the times, f/2.8 is fast enough, because the M10 has excellent performance at high ISO. But sometimes I need more, and I underexpose a couple of stops wishing than in PP I can recovery well the scene. I shoot almost 100% available light for my work, and I would love to keep doing it. But I would like to add an affordable 35 companion for my Zeiss. A fast lens. Let's say that during an event, I would shoot most with the 35 ZM. Only when I need a faster aperture because the very low light, or when I want a shallow DOP for an artistic effect, I would choose the other 35. 

For what I have found around the web, and reading your feedbacks here, these are my options in no particular order:

1. Voigtlander Nokton 35mm f/1.2 Aspherical III - $1,050
  2. Voigtlander Ultron 35mm f/1.7 Aspherical - $670
  3. Voigtlander Nokton Classic 35mm f/1.4 II MC - $600
  4. Voigtlander Ultron 35mm f/2 Aspherical - $700
  5. TTArtisan 35mm f/1.4 - $450

I can say that with f/2 should be fine. But if it's faster, of course, better. My requirements: